I’m new to predator fish and need help with my stock list for 150

TommyDelaney

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am setting up a 150 5x2x2 and am hoping to keep a few predator fish. I’m looking for comments on my list so far

one spot foxface
Zebra eel
Fu Manchu lionfish
Naso tang
Sail fin tang
Christmas wrasse
Yellow long nose butterflyfish

lion king

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Do some extensive research on the fu manchu feeding challenges, they usually never do well long term attempting to feed a dead diet, and feeding live in that tank would be very difficult at best.

I would rethink the naso tang, they really need a larger tank, and dont do well long term in a smaller tank.

The zebra eel gets huge, while they do tuck themselves away most of the time, I personally would keep them in a larger tank. Be ready for major nutrient control; big skimmer, macro algae, carbon dosing, frequent water changes, etc.

Bbfishb81

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Just a heads up, foxface and naso will get quite big, so you might have to rehome them when they get bigger. Fu manchu are hard to keep fed. Zebra eel should be ok with places to hide, I have one in a 120g and he is about 3 feet long. Sailfin, wrasse and butterfly should be good. If you can, best to add as many as you at once. With larger fish, territory issues can come up quick with new additions.

lion king

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
thank you for the replies what would be a better choice for a small lionfish

The fuzzy is the best choice for a community tank, and are the most successful to get eating dead food, the zebra is 2nd best. Feeding is still challenging and best to get eating well in an observation tank before entering into the dt. Please read some of my other post about keeping lions. Careful considerations must be met to keep a dwarf lion on dead food long term.

OP
OP
TommyDelaney