I need guidance on a Reef Dynamics Skimmer

hrdneglcry

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So I have an older Reef Dynamics INS135S. I have been using it for more than 6 months. I am including PICS of my actual skimmer, and two that are like mine. I never understood exactly how to run this. There is an air tube that runs off of the venturi nozzle on the pump. I get that. There is another air tube that has a valve that runs off the part I think they call the sliencer. Whatever it is I have always kept it about a quarter closed to keep the skim working best. If I open it all the way not as good. And the last part is a pipe that is removeable. I have been told that this pipe is adjustable but I don't know how. Here are the pics.

Heres an INS135 S no tubes
AAB1FAC9-9E5B-468D-BFCD-22D5DE40C939.jpeg

Here is one where it looks like they connected the venturi tube to the silencer tube. And it has a valve.
5F8738F2-A01E-48AF-931A-2FE7A9BE7D5E.jpeg

This is how I have been running mine. Venturi tube into a home made silencer. Other tube coming off the silencer on the skimmer with valve 1/4 closed.

B28D505E-DF59-4435-A33A-F68D8121574C.jpeg

So no ine told me maybe I was supposed to connect the valve tube the to silencer on the skimmer and the other end to the venturi. I do know it didn't work well with the valve all the way open. The taller grey tube is adjustable but I don't know what its for. Recently this skimmer stopped skimming. It still makes microbubbles. I cleaned the venturi for 15 hours. No change. I don't know what happened but I would like to understand this particular skimmer better.

Mike konesky

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0