I need help with something!..

sheldonsreef

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have been running a canister filter for 12 months and with regular maintenance and frequent water changes, has been extremely successful, with a clean looking tank and great coral growth. But I feel the time has come to upgrade to a sump. And i have a couple of questions!

1. Is it possible using my current tank. My tank is a 60G bowfront, with two predrilled holes in the bottom. The inlet to my filter is approximately half way up my tank, but can be adjusted. My outlet is at the surface.

2. If it is possible, do I have to drain the tank? Or by some miracle can this be done without draining.

This is my current set up,
Dan

20180603_104702.jpeg

mtraylor

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So if I see this right. Your drain is drilled into the back wall of the glass. Is that correct? If so if you have a threaded union, you can basically make a plug and thread it in. You an also do this with a slip.

jsker

Reefing is all about the adventure
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
How about a picture of the overflow from the top down:)

OP
OP
sheldonsreef

sheldonsreef

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have no overflow, just a drain about half way down the tank. My canister draws water from here, then pumps it back up top
20180603_170502.jpeg

Playa-1

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0