"Inherited" tank, in poor condition to start with

linda

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello :)

Last December I was given a 20 gallon saltwater aquarium in bad-looking condition (I'm a newbie, maybe it only looked bad to me... but the water was tea brown, light fixture broken, etc). It has 25 lbs of live rock. It has black sand (I was told it was "live sand" but I have no idea). It also has a submerged power head, heater, thermometer, seaclone protein skimmer, and a completely empty backpack filter (I just have that one put away in the cabinet).

The first thing I did was some water changes over the course of the first few weeks. That helped the water not be so brown. I also went out and bought a Coralife light fixture with two bulbs (10,000k and actinic blue). The man at the fish store where I bought the light told me to wait a few months to do anything to the tank to let it cycle. It's been just over 4 months. I have a salinity tester and have made sure that it stays within the marked area. I only add distilled water when evaporation occurs. I take a water sample to petco weekly for testing (they are right around the corner from my house and they test for free). They tell me the water is ok, ph is just slightly off but hardly so.

The fish have managed to survive (except for the green chromis, that one died). Currently there is an ocellaris clown fish and a red firefish.

Compared to how it was when I first got it, it looks 10x better. But I need some direction. My main concerns at this point are my cleaning crew and water clarity.

Cleaning Crew: