Instant Ocean Alkalinity Variance

Reef AquaCult

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have been using IO (regular, NOT Reef Crystals) for the past 6 months. My alkalinity was rock solid at 8.6 using Hanna Alk checker testing every 2 weeks for several months. I keep my new saltwater in a 90 gallon food grade polyethylene tank that was purchased new. I mix new saltwater in 45-50 gallon increments (when my tank gets to about half full) and simply pour on of the 50 gallon bags of IO into and mix to 1.025 SG for 6-8 hours. After the last bag was added the alkalinity in the tank is now 7.2 per the Hanna checker with same SG of 1.025. The Hanna reagent is not expired and I even opened a new bottle of reagent (both old and new read the same within 0.2). I tested the stagnant water (no mixing x several days) and after a thorough mixing with pump and obtained the same measurements. I would like to know some of your alkalinity values with mixing new saltwater with standard Instant Ocean and what type of variability in readings you would typically expect. I'm well aware IO is the budget salt but I would expect the alkalinity to be more consistent than the readings I'm getting. Thank you for any input!

SeaDweller

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
IME with IO it usually ran high, not low. It was 9.0-9.6+ on multiple boxes of standard IO.

OP
OP
Reef AquaCult

Reef AquaCult

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Interesting, thank you for the responses. I wonder whats going on in my case. I’m dumping the entire contents of each bag in so layering / stratification should not be happening. Corals don’t seem to be affected right now so I don’t plan on changing anything urgently but will definitely keep monitoring it.

BeejReef

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0