Is an ATO worth it?

Victory652

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello everyone, I have a 55 gal tank. Is it worth it to add an ATO to this tank? I do not have a sump for this tank. Just a filter.

In you experience was it worth it to add an ATO to your setup? Why?

T-J

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hands down one of the best inventions for reef tanks. I've been doing this for over 20 years. Before we had to use IV lines and GUESS on how much water was evaporating by dripping it into the tank. ATO's keep the salinity very stable. I wouldn't run a tank without one!

Jib

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have a 14 gallon desktop tank and could not imagine not having an ATO. My little tank evaporates like 20 oz of water each day. It's a pain in the butt to always be topping off. Literally the best thing I bought for my tank.

Sshannon

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Unless you have a glass top over your tank to limit evaporation, an ATO; although a luxury item; is so convenient to have. Plus having it top off throughout the day is way more stable than dumping 2 gallons of RO water at the end of each week. That said, you get what you pay for. Make sure you get one with a redundant second sensor to prevent overflows or snails knocking around the first sensor.

Dw79

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have a sumpless system as well and would not be without one. Once you have had one, you will never go back

MichaelReefer

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello everyone, I have a 55 gal tank. Is it worth it to add an ATO to this tank? I do not have a sump for this tank. Just a filter.

In you experience was it worth it to add an ATO to your setup? Why?

Yes. Less Maintenance. You can also leave a few days and not worry about water level or salinity.

Joe31415

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0