Is an RODI water filter really necessary?

DrFlu

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello everyone,

I have been reefing with mostly LPS/Softies for the last >10 years and recently gotten some SPS within the last few months. However, i have not been following one of the most basic principles in reef keeping: NOT using RODI water. I have been using tap water with Prime this whole time.

I have to say though, I have not been experiencing any issues as others have reported? I have not been getting cyano, dinos etc. Corals seem fine? I run a Chaeto reactor 24/7 and also a HOG1x algae scrubber. I also run GAC every few months - so that may that probably solves any heavy metals accumulation?

Nitrates: 1ppm (salifert)
Phosphates: 0.03ppm (salifert)

Am i missing something here? Is a RODI unit for reef tanks really a fundamental piece of equipment? I just couldn't justify the purchase of an piece of equipment that is seemingly not required.

mdb_talon

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
For me it is certainly required equipment. I dont want to risk something in my water causing issues. My water is horrible, but even if it was not who knows when that changes and for what i consider a relatively minor cost i dont want to risk it.

Having said that there are plenty of people who can chime in about using tapwater and never having issues. I am sure i cant change their mind that it is fine and they certainly cant change mine.

Upvote 0

Perthegallon

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
I feel like one containment in the drinking water could kill thousands of dollars worth in your tank I feel it’s as important as having a back up on your heater. Just my two cents and the machine cost basically nothing so why not

Upvote 0

jskidds2294

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello everyone,