Is lifereef really the best skimmer?

Ecotech Marine

t5Nitro

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Feb 9, 2011
Messages
758
Reaction score
416
Location
IL
Nope. I did shut it off for the morning and restarted it, still with the valve fully opened, and now it's tumbling water in the body a good 2 to 3 inches below the neck. I'm not sure what it was, but it looks like I can go ahead and tune it back in.
 
Avast

lagatbezan

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Sep 14, 2017
Messages
539
Reaction score
837
Location
Long Island, NY
Looking to get a svs3-30 and was looking to use a dc pump and been looking at the varios8 or a sicce syncra sdc9 pump. A lot of review mention the sicce pumps are noisy specially their dc ones where as the varios 8 is silent. Any one have any experience with either of these pump or any recommendations?
 

RobertP

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Jan 10, 2017
Messages
335
Reaction score
328
Location
Frelsburg, TX
My Sicce syncra 5 is an AC pump but it is super quiet so not sure who would have said they were loud. I cannot tell it is on until I see water pushing up in my LR skimmer.
My return pump is a Reeflow dart and while it is not loud it is the loudest thing in the sump room.
 
OP
ChrisQ0904

ChrisQ0904

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Dec 8, 2013
Messages
1,026
Reaction score
427
Location
Florida
Looking to get a svs3-30 and was looking to use a dc pump and been looking at the varios8 or a sicce syncra sdc9 pump. A lot of review mention the sicce pumps are noisy specially their dc ones where as the varios 8 is silent. Any one have any experience with either of these pump or any recommendations?
Never ran a various on the skimmer but have used a smaller one for a return pump and it was very quiet
 
First Choice

lagatbezan

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Sep 14, 2017
Messages
539
Reaction score
837
Location
Long Island, NY
I run the SDC9.0 on my 36" and I have no issues with noise. I also run a SDC9.0 on my chiller with no noise issues.
Do you know if the sicce sdc pump retain their memory in case of a power loss? Like when the power comes back on, do they automatically resume backup or do you have to press some buttons on the display to restart them back up?
 

Badilac

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 11, 2019
Messages
521
Reaction score
474
Location
Unionville
Do you know if the sicce sdc pump retain their memory in case of a power loss? Like when the power comes back on, do they automatically resume backup or do you have to press some buttons on the display to restart them back up?
Yes they retain memory. I have zero issues with my 2 SDC9.0's
 

RobertP

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Jan 10, 2017
Messages
335
Reaction score
328
Location
Frelsburg, TX
I have to ask why would you turn down the skimmer pump? LR skimmers are setup to run on full power on the pump and then you close or open the valve to adjust. It is my understanding that you want to push as much air into the water as possible. In this case you would not need to worry about whether your pump is on high or lower.
 
Top Shelf Aquatics

Badilac

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 11, 2019
Messages
521
Reaction score
474
Location
Unionville
I have to ask why would you turn down the skimmer pump? LR skimmers are setup to run on full power on the pump and then you close or open the valve to adjust. It is my understanding that you want to push as much air into the water as possible. In this case you would not need to worry about whether your pump is on high or lower.
Why would I run my SDC9.0 at 90watts and turn it way down via the gate valve when I can run it at 60watts and not have to turn it down as much. I dont need the extra heat in my tank or to waste the electricity. The SDC9.0 is already much larger than the Magdrive 18 he sells with the 36" so no need to run it wide open.
 

Mark_4880

Community Member
View Badges
Joined
Oct 19, 2018
Messages
41
Reaction score
21
Does anyone have a LR skimmer they are getting rid of? Looking for the expandable 24"

I'm getting ready to setup a new tank and kind of want to replace the old AquaC ev-180.

This is 1 week of skimmate of a 90gal
20201206_120053.jpg
 

Are you currently running a reactor and media on your reef tank?

  • Yes (please tell us what in the thread)

    Votes: 95 38.9%
  • NO but I run media from time to time

    Votes: 74 30.3%
  • NO I don't use filter media

    Votes: 70 28.7%
  • Other (please explain)

    Votes: 5 2.0%

Online statistics

Members online
1,424
Guests online
4,771
Total visitors
6,195
REEFTIDE FOLLOW US @reeftideaquariums
Top