Is this aiptasia?

DeanoL

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey :)

Noticed this on the trachy coral that I only just bought.

aiptasia on trachy.jpg

I do have three peppermint shrimp in the tank (at least I hope I do - I haven't really seen them since I put them in a couple weeks ago - although I did see evidence of molting the other day)

I have done some reading and just bought the red sea coral dip so that I can dip future purchases before putting them in the tank.

If it is aiptasia (which I think it is) - then the peppermint should hopefully take care of it eventually. Are 3 peppermint shrimp enough in a 60 gal? Happy to buy some more - would prefer to try that than other chemicals in the tank. But - I'm not experienced and am happy to listen to those of you who have battled this before.

Thanks!

DJF

know less, learn more
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Yes it is an aptasia. 3 peppermints plenty- see if it disappears and they’re earning their keep.

IKD

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
Yes, looks like aiptasia. Do you see more anywhere? If it’s just this one, don’t wait to treat as they spread rapidly. Inject with kalk paste for targeted treatment.

OP
OP
D

DeanoL

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Yes, looks like aiptasia. Do you see more anywhere? If it’s just this one, don’t wait to treat as they spread rapidly. Inject with kalk paste for targeted treatment.
Thanks - it's the only one I can see at the moment. I don't have kalk paste so is there anything else I can do?
Yes it is an aptasia. 3 peppermints plenty- see if it disappears and they’re earning their keep.
Fingers crossed they will take it down tonight - will definitely solve the problem.

IKD

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0