Is this GHA?

liamelias

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I’ve been battling this really bad algae for a few months. I beat cyano and dinos a few months ago then this cotton like algae started taking over. The ends look red and brownish but under a white light the actual algae is green. I can’t seem to get rid of it.
Tank has been setup for 1.2 years. Started with dry rock/bottled bacteria. Added a big piece of live rock 6 months after for biodiversity.
Haven’t registered Nitrates for a year. Phosphates are 0.03
Any solutions? Wait it out?

IMG_5049.jpeg IMG_5050.jpeg IMG_5051.jpeg

Reefing_addiction

It’s my TANK and I want it NOW!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
It definitely looks like it. You need to manually remove as much as possible. Test nitrates and phosphates - although the numbers may be skewed because that stuff eats it up.

How often do you feed?
How often do you do water changes?
What kind of clean up crew do you have.

Again manually remove as much as possible.
You Gould remove the rocks (I am assuming there are no corals) and scrub them to remove the GHA. Rinse in salt water afterwards. Don’t use tap or even RODI - don’t want to kill the good bacteria

Tank looks rather small - is it an AIO? Or do you have a sump? How long has the tank been up?

Manpeckz

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
+1 manual scrub

I like to do mine halfway through a water change in my bad water bucket. Currently going through this all the time myself.

Dry rock here too.. never again? :smiling-face-with-tear:

OP
OP
liamelias

liamelias

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
+1 manual scrub

I like to do mine halfway through a water change in my bad water bucket. Currently going through this all the time myself.

Dry rock here too.. never again? :smiling-face-with-tear: