Is this worms or some type of internal parasite with my tang?

Coxey81

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0

Hi, noticed this going on with my tang today. Looks like something prazipro would probably clear up. But I'm no expert.

@Jay Hemdal could you help me diagnose? Thanks.

The video show it best. Was hard to get with pictures. At first I thought it was a thread that got on her somehow. But then I noticed it's also hanging from her Anus. I think she pooped the other part and it just got caught on her.

20230128_151519.jpg
20230128_151641.jpg
20230128_151521.jpg
20230128_151639.jpg

Jay Hemdal

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
That is something that was floating in the water and then got caught underneath the tang's spike. It looks like stringy feces from another fish. That may or may not be an issue for that fish, but the tang should have this drop off pretty soon as it breaks up. Of course, it could be feces from the tang itself.....

Jay

OP
OP
Coxey81

Coxey81

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
@Jay Hemdal if you watch the video, you can tell its also coming out of her anus. right towards the end of the video.

Jay Hemdal

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Have you recently changed the tang's diet? Can you add in frozen brine shrimp to act as a laxative?

Jay

OP
OP
Coxey81

Coxey81

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
That is something that was floating in the water and then got caught underneath the tang's spike. It looks like stringy feces from another fish. That may or may not be an issue for that fish, but the tang should have this drop off pretty soon as it breaks up. Of course, it could be feces from the tang itself.....

Jay
It's definitely white string feces from the tang. Would that be something to address with prazi? I would priably just dose the whole DT.

vetteguy53081

Well known Member and monster tank lover
View Badges
Reaction score