Issues in the hobby

Mr. Fishy Fish

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey all,

I've recently come back into the hobby, and I've been watching a lot of saltwater related videos that would make any informed person cringe. I'm not an expert by all means, but when I see a video of a bamboo shark in a 50-gallon aquarium, I can't help but think something is wrong. A lot of times videos such as these get much more likes than dislikes. People are supporting this ignorant behaviour without even knowing that there is something fundamentally wrong with putting a fish that requires at least 360 gallons in a 50-gallon aquarium. I do not blame the people supporting the YouTuber with their likes and subscriptions since most of them are not even in the hobby and are just watching videos. However, the YouTuber should know better about the quality of their videos. It takes a quick google search to know that a bamboo shark needs a "minimum" of 360-gallons, so either the content creator did not bother doing a simple google search or they did but simply did not heed the advice of experts. I'm not trying to start an argumentative thread. I just want to hear other people's opinions on this behavior. I want to know if you all think there should be some protocol to prevent these questionable practices in the hobby.

Sincerely,

Mr. Fishy Fish

ichthyogeek

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Well....welcome to PetTube....where abuse of animals is incredibly common no matter what the animal is. I think there were a couple of good Vice or Buzzfeed articles about it, but the gist I've been getting is that combining work (Youtuber/Vlogger) with animals tends to result in an animal hoarder-esque channel, which in turn results in neglected animals because the youtuber in question has Too Many Animals.