Kalkwasser help needed

Dj City

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I need some help please.

I've never used kalk before but I need to start using it.

I have a 180gal SPS dominate reef.
I dose B-ionic 2 part and I'm happy with it but I need that extra boost in ph and want to balance out 2 part use with kalk.

I don't want to use my ATO for kalk.
I don't have a kalk reactor.
I want to just use a container and a dosing pump.

Does the mixed kalk need to have a lid after it's mixed to saturation?

How much kalk should I dose to the reef?
How often should I have the doser dose kalk and how many ml per dose?

I'm mostly looking to boost ph and maybe tone down the 2 part a little bit.

Last edited:

Montiman

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Your container does not need a lid but I like one because it stops stuff from falling in. As far as how much kalk you need. I would use a dosing calculator. BRS has a free one as well as some other places. Find out what your current consumption is and the calculator can get you in the ball park. I would dose as much kalk as possible which for an SPS tank will be limited by your evaporation rate then make up the rest with Bionic.

It is best to dose kalk as slow and continuously as possible. I would split up the dose as much as you can with your dosing pump of choice.

OP
OP
Dj City

Dj City

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm thinking of using a 5 gallon jug.
I understand it should be 2 teaspoons per gallon to get to max saturation.

How far will a 5 gallon jug get me? How long should it last?

OP
OP
Dj City

Dj City

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Bump...

I still need some help with this.
I just got a 6 gallon space saving jug from Walmart.

I plan on filling that with saturated kalkwasser water and dosing directly from that jug to the sump via my dosing pump (jeabo wifi 3.4 doser)

Will this work?