kayvon's 120 gallon reef

Kayvon

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Introduction

My name is kayvon and I’ve been reefing for a couple of years now. I have had some success in the past, but it was always cut short by something or other. My first attempt at a reef was destroyed by biopellet overdose. My next was by velvet taking out nearly all of my fish overnight causing a chain reaction. Now is my third attempt.

Thanks to my experiences in the past, I plan on going with a more natural approach. I’ve used carbon dosing and gfo in the past, but I felt like these solutions changed too much too quickly. The universal advice is that stability is king and nothing good happens quickly. I plan on taking that advice to heart with this build.

Current System Equipment

• Display Tank: 120 gallon aquarium (48”L X 24”W X 24”H) with a Synergy Reef Ghost overflow on the back. Pukani rock and Tropic Eden Reeflakes

• Sump: Trigger Systems Sapphire 34

• Refugium: Chaeto grown using an old Evergrow 160W, 8x8x4 Marinepure brick, rubble rock, and Algaebarn pods

• Filtration Media: Bag of ROX Carbon every once in a while

• Lighting: Kessil A360W-E

• Skimmer: Vertex Omega 150

• Return Pump: Waveline DC10000II, uses a Random Flow Generator from Vivid Creative Aquatics

• Powerheads: 2x Vortech MP40 running on Reef Crest mode, MaxSpect Gyre XF230

• Auto Top Off System: Tunze Osmolator 3155, a 55 gallon barrel holds the water

• Heater: Finnex HMA-S 500W

Planned Equipment Upgrades

• Refugium: Maybe add HOG 1.0 algae scrubber I have laying around

• Lighting: ATi Powermodule 8x54W I’m waiting for my mounting arms to come in.

• Dosing Pump: GHL Doser 2.1 SA, 4 heads. Already have this. I just have to install it.

• Controller: GHL Profilux 4 with Vortech controller and spare powerbar

• Return Pump: Maybe upgrade to Vectra M1, or keep it as a backup

• Heater: Get something more safe/reliable

The tank so far…
image1.JPG