KHG, AIM and Apex - setup balling

samparker

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi R2R members!

Hoping you can help me out, I am trying to setup a KH Guardian with an apex to monitor/control not only alk, but also calcium and magnesium. Now, before you say "they now have a Calcium Guardian, I know, but it is out of budget/scope for this project.

I have experience with the KH Guardian, have an AIM unit on the way and a apex classic sitting in a box here ready to setup and program. The plan is, have the KHG test alk every 2 or 4 hours, send the results back via AIM to the apex, which in turn will then work out how much alk/cal/mag to dose (ideally 30mins apart to avoid precipitation)

I am a coder by trade, so am thinking I should be able to pickup the apex coding fairly quick - but I'm not sure on the limitations of it's "language".

But before re-inventing the wheel, I thought I'd see if anyone had some code they would be willing to share that they are using, or can recommend something to start with. @Rick.45cal not sure if you are using the AIM and Apex with yours or not?

Thanks all!
Sam

Ridgeway

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I honestly don't think you'll see any noticeable difference in Calc and especially Mag demand during a normal systems daily fluctuation pattern. Of coarse there will be some on the Alk demand and the KHG will take care of that but for the others I can only see that a gradual trend swing over say several weeks will require managing.

Rick.45cal

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Sam, my unit is only operating in a stand-alone capacity, it doesn’t talk to my Apex at all. I recently got the AIM module but haven’t installed or set it up. I’ll be following along to see what you come up with.