Labradorite Stand Build

Jeff Patzewitsch

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Long time reader, first time poster. Thought after all the good advice I read here, I'd sign up and show y'all what I've been up to.

So, here was the "stand" I've been using for the last six years. It's not an aquarium stand, just a console table. The fact that it never collapsed under the weight of my 37-gallon tank is nothing short of a miracle. Just walking past it would make waves, and god forbid if you bumped into it.
IMG_0056.jpg

So, with our first child on the way, my wife told me it was finally time to build something more stable, and safe to be around. As much as I'm a tech guy, sketching things out on paper always seems to work best for me. Here was our concept. Very simple, shouldn't be too hard to make a reality.
IMG_0055.jpg

I've done some very basic builds before, like a bookcase, an entertainment center, and such, but never a cabinet with doors. I enjoy a challenge and learning how to do things. Here's an exploded view I drew to help me figure out the internal structure and how much lumber I needed. I didn't stick to this exactly, but it was a good reference for planning the build.
IMG_0057.jpg

Back from Home Depot with some kiln-dried framing 2x4s, some 1/2" and 1/4" birch plywood, and various pieces of poplar.
IMG_0077.jpg

Internal frame built. Note: I over-engineer EVERYTHING. I'm well aware that you could probably park a truck on this thing, no less my 400-lb. aquarium. The frame is just big enough to hold my canister filter and two 5-gallon jugs. Thinking about dropping a sump/refugium in at some point, but that's a project for another day.
IMG_0078.jpg

Outer frame screwed on. Did I mention that I over-engineer everything?
IMG_0079.JPG