Leopard Wrasse breathing heavy

USMC 4 LIFE

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Currently have a leopard Wrasse in hypo salinity in a QT tank. He's in there with a fire fish and a blenny who are both doing great. The fishes have been in QT for a week now and in hypo for four days. I do daily water changes (25%)

The Wrasse has been out of his sand today and is breathing very heavily and laying on its side. I have an air stone (I read hypo reduces oxygen levels) in there and have an additional powerhead aimed at the water surface. There are No meds in the tank.

I don't think he'll survive much longer and am wondering if I should take him out of Hypo gradually. Any advise is much appreciated.

A_game43

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
First and foremost Thank You for Serving this great nation of ours! I was in the US Army for 8 years and loved every minute. I am by no means an expert in this field of Fish illness but I did have this same fish, not easy to care for, they do like pods to eat, getting them to eat frozen can be a challenge. Check or do you check your water for Ammonia build up? This is the quite one in Qtanks, once you feed in a Qtank try to remove the remaining food as soon as possible the leftover can cause Ammonia to spike.

OP
OP
USMC 4 LIFE

USMC 4 LIFE

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Thank you and thanks for your service as well!

I ran an ammonia test and it came back as 0. I also syphon out the left over food and poop daily before water changes. There's a piece of live rock in there with PODS that was taken out of my refugium to feed the Leopard.

Humblefish

Dr. Fish
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'll help ya even though I'm ex-Navy. ;)

Have you tested pH? Hypo can drive it down and you usually have to regularly buffer it.

4FordFamily

Tang, Angel, and Wrasse Nerd!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0