Light ID? is this good enough for keeping montipora?

Alpha_and_Gec

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I've had some experience keeping LPS, softies and anemonies for a few years now and I'd like to get some red montiporas, as my tank currently lacks ledges and I thought they'd look cool with a hawkfish. However, I realized that I have no idea what kind of light I have(the person that purchased it for my family is no longer in contact with me) and I do not know what spectrum it emits. It's ancient and dusty, and I have no clue for how long it will continue to work, but I just need something that has the right spectrum to grow most common SPS and LPS. I have also decided to bring my caulerpa lamp to the top just as backup(no longer grows caulerpa... they get matted with filamentous within days), although I'm not sure how helpful it will be.

1693977566694.png

1693977734226.png

1693977743536.png

1693977754962.png

1693977800858.png

DenverSaltyFarm

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
never seen that light before, but red monti typically should not be expensive to give it a try. I had so much green and red monti that was growing too big I couldn't give it away fast enough. A lot of it ended up in the trash. If you have a local club and someone is growing red monti typically you can get frags for next to nothing to try out.

OP
OP
A

Alpha_and_Gec

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
never seen that light before, but red monti typically should not be expensive to give it a try. I had so much green and red monti that was growing too big I couldn't give it away fast enough. A lot of it ended up in the trash. If you have a local club and someone is growing red monti typically you can get frags for next to nothing to try out.