Long Distance Move

HygienicMermaid

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi all,

I have recently made the decision to move about an hour and a half away from where I currently reside. I realize this isn't a terrible distance, but I am still nervous about moving my saltwater aquarium. I have a 49 gallon bowfront (salt) and a 150 gallon (fresh). I have plenty of experience moving the freshwater fish and have had no issues with that. However, I realize that most saltwater fish aren't nearly as hardy as African Cichlids.

What suggestions do you have for transporting and setting up a tank? How about the fish themselves? When I first got my aquarium, I let it cycle with just sand and water with nothing else in it for nearly two months. I am paranoid about the water parameters and don't want anything bad to happen. How can I expedite the set-up and cycle process?

I move in August, so I've got a bit of time. But I definitely want to start thinking about it and preparing now. Especially because I might have to move to a temporary place and do the move twice come August.

Help! I appreciate it all in advance.

-Ariel

P-Dub

The ocean is open to all, merciful to none.
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Have a plan and help arranged well in advance. Many folks have done it, including me. Type "Moving" in the search window and get reading.

Spare time

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
The fish ship overnight to stores in a bag of half water half air. If you want you can put them in buckets and put a shot of prime in before hand. Or you can ask your lfs for bags. Same goes for coral (these are easier to bag).

You could go with new sand or (if the sand is clean) put the sand in a bucket with some water.

Rocks can go in bucket with water if you want to keep them as live as possible.

I can't really advise on how to move the tank itself.