Long, losing battle with Dinos

RDaber

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am looking for advise on a major Dino outbreak that I have been fighting for several months. My tank is about 2 years old WB220 mixed reef. I have tried many of the remedies provided in the threads here and still cannot seem to clear them up. I believe the root cause was low nutrients(both N and P) which I have addressed and test for daily to make sure they don't bottom out again. From the microscope the Dinos appear to be Prorocentrum so I have not tried UV yet.

So far I have tried:
- 3 day total blackout followed by Dr Tim's method.
-Reducing light intensity and using a bluer spectrum
-Vacuuming Dinos off sand/rock and dosing microbacter 7
-Dosing Phyto
-Adding Hydrogen Peroxide nightly (1ml/10G)
-Last week I started to dose silicates

With the above I have seen slight improvement however the Dinos are still at plague levels. I have lost several inverts and a Mandarian as a result.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated as I am trying everything to not have to throw in the towel.

Relled

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I did... no water changes, manual removal, microbacter clean heavy dosing daily(probably didnt do anything?), but i think the main thing was running a uv 24/7. Once things cleared up I started running the UV at night and lowered the dose of microbacter until nothing completely stopped and have not had anything but minor hair algae outbreaks from that point.

OP
OP
R

RDaber

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
As far as UV is concerned is the Aqua Ultraviolet 57W suitable for a ~180G display if I run about 3x tank volume an hour through it?

UnderWater1051

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
As far as UV is concerned is the Aqua Ultraviolet 57W suitable for a ~180G display if I run about 3x tank volume an hour through it?