Long time lurker from Nor/So California. Hello!

Blopple

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Helllllo everybody!

I have not had a tank outside of a betta tank for a few years, and am finally getting ready to pull the trigger on my first reef tank.

My dad had a reef tank until I was in about third grade and I remember being obsessed with it. Sadly it was taken down after a move and never set back up. Fast forward 25 years or so and I'm now an adult and can have my own. I've been bouncing around San Diego for the past 10 years ago after the military, and have always lived in apartments that would not allow tanks. I am finally moving back up to Sacramento at the beginning of April for some cost of living relief and to be closer to family. The complex I am moving too allows tanks up to 40g!

Queue you all: I need help! I've spent the last 1.5-2 years reading about tanks(here, reddit, a few books)/watching videos, but there is no substitute for actual experience.

Here's my introductory question: Which tank? I've been eyeballing the IM 25 lagoon, IM 40L, or the Waterbox 35.2. I'd like to keep mostly softies and maybe a few pieces of LPS. I'm leaning towards the 40L, but am concerned about increased difficulty moving it when I buy a house (within an hour and most likely within the next year or two). Additionally a little bit worried that it will just look super empty for a lot longer than the 25 would. Any insights, advice, or suggestions?

Peace River

Thrive Master
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
Welcome to Reef2Reef!!!

Clownfish.gif

vetteguy53081

Well known Member and monster tank lover
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
14   0   0

vetteguy53081

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
14   0   0
Helllllo everybody!

I have not had a tank outside of a betta tank for a few years, and am finally getting ready to pull the trigger on my first reef tank.