Looking for schooling/shoaling fish, any suggestions ?

Regular_Reefer

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
As the title suggests. I’m new to the hobby and I am looking for a good group to add to my display. Looking for suggestions and experience with shoaling/schooling fish that would do well as a group of 7 or so.

ScottieB

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Shouldn't be too hard to find something, I've got got an easy recommendation and some outside the box. May depend on your setup, tank size, tank cover, etc. But here's some examples, prob more shoaling then schooling but certainly interacting with each other:

Anthias (My fav - Lyretail, 1 male, 4-6 females)
Group of Gudgeons (hang out at the top of the water column)
Cardinals
Even a big group of Skunk Clowns (Melevs reef has a group in his 400, they are always interacting with each other)
Reef Chromis (prob too mean though)

If I think of more I'll let you know.

Sdot

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I was in your position a few months ago.....i purchased 2 male Randall's Anthias....and several weeks later i bought 4 females....guess what....very rarely do they ever school. This is my experience anyway, the only fish that has ever schooled in any tank i had, were blue/green Chromis....they always die off one by one however...

Chef Mateo

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
In saltwater aquariums fish rarely school as you generally won't have predators with your peaceful schoolers. As in the wild they mostly school for their protection. So it's very unlikely to get fish that will legitimately school unless you have a monster tank with 10+ fish schooling together. :(

OP
OP
Regular_Reefer

Regular_Reefer

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0