Looking for some validation...

penguinexdeus

Poor Decision Maker
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Feeling a bit bummed today and looking to try and understand some things...

So I'm new to SPS and have been working on making my newest tank SPS dominant. Tank is on newer side (about 5 months), but has been mostly stable. I've lost some acro frags here and there but could usually point to something I did. Last month the tank's been doing great and some of the frags I had that came from one of my other tanks that had been brown in that tank actually started coloring up. Seeing the slightest amounts of new growth. Most things have good polyp extension. However apparently overnight I completely lost one frag, that yesterday was fine and today is nothing but stark white skeleton. Things have been stable with no large swings so it's really thrown me off.

Is this just life with acros? What are the signs of RTN/STN and what do they look like? I just assume since this thing died overnight it was RTN... But how can I tell if something is STN?

Also how much of an alk swing is acceptable? I generally don't see more than a 0.2 swing if I try to play catch up on dosing if it depletes faster than expected.

Current Parameters (75 gal display/ 30 sump):
KH - 8.3
CAL - 410
MAG - 1430
Nitrate - 5.1
Phos - 0.05
PH 7.9 - 8.1

PXL_20221127_165515353.jpg

dhnguyen

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
SPS (especially acros) is all about stability and biodiversity.
What are you dosing?
Did you start the tank with live rock or dry rock? LR alone can make a huge difference in improving your chances with SPS.

OP
OP
penguinexdeus

penguinexdeus

Poor Decision Maker
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
SPS (especially acros) is all about stability and biodiversity.
What are you dosing?
Did you start the tank with live rock or dry rock? LR alone can make a huge difference in improving your chances with SPS.