Low Magnesium

pixie.hallows

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi there!

I’m new to reefing. have a 10 gallon Nano tank that’s around 4 months old. Everything in the tank seems happy, but I’m consistently getting low magnesium readings. (Using Red Sea magnesium test kit and a timer). I do 20% water changes about every week to week and a half. Two weeks ago I started dosing 2x weekly with 1/2 tsp of the attached supplement in 1/2 cup water. Magnesium is still hovering around 1040 ppm. Last night I measured, added the magnesium, and this morning tested again and it was still the same (1040). Not sure what to do?

Other parameters:

Alk 9.2
Calcium 410
Nitrate 2.4
pH 8.2
Phosphate .13
Salinity 1.023
Temp 79.1

Photos of the tank and supplement attached. The feather duster got mad because I turned on the white light for the picture. I have Coralife LEDs that usually are kept on blue.

Any help would be appreciated!

FullSizeRender.jpeg FullSizeRender.jpeg IMG_2852.jpeg

jda

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Recalibrate your refractometer and get your salinity up to 35 ppt. Low mag and/or low calcium are a warning sign that salinity could be off - not always, but an easy check.

OP
OP
pixie.hallows

pixie.hallows

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I took a water sample to my LFS and it measured 1200.
I’m not disclaiming user error but I’m pretty meticulous with all my testing. Should I get a different brand of test kit other than the Red Sea? Is it possible one of the components of the kit is bad?

gbroadbridge

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Your salinity is low which means all the other parameters will also be low.
If you're using a refractometer or EC probe to measure salinity recalibrate and then adjust salinity up to 1.026 (35PSU).

You can check your Mg test with freshly mixed salt water (at 35PSU).