Low PH. High KH. Need advise?

Stv

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello all,
I’ve struggled with getting PH up using LFS purchased real ocean water. It’s typically at 7.8 PH.

heres my current parameters:

77.9F

PH. 7.8.

KH. 10.5

Cal. 400

Nitrate. 5.0

Phos. 0.25

Sal. 1.0255

I need to do a water change of 10-15% anyway and planned on doing it with the same store bought ocean water. Mainly because it’s time to and in theory will help nitrates and KH come down a bit. BUT…. Is there anything I can do to get the KH to come down AND get the PH to come up? Can’t seem to ever get the KH down despite added water being at 7.5.

I’m a newb so any help is much appreciated. Tank is 32 biocube 6 months old. Ugly stage is over. Tank critters, clown and BT anemone. Green frog swawn. Diamond hobby, CUC. Cleaner shrimp. Small puffer and tang. Tiny recordia.

980A370D-FC4D-4EB9-AE0B-91BD1FFDAFF9.jpeg

OP
OP
S

Stv

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Don’t want to use 8.3 buffer because I was and it raised the KH to where it’s at trying to get the PH up.

Randy Holmes-Farley

Reef Chemist
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
pH is determined by the alkalinity and the CO2 level.

A buffer is not a good way to raise pH, and drives alk too high.

This has more:

OP
OP
S

Stv

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
pH is determined by the alkalinity and the CO2 level.

A buffer is not a good way to raise pH, and drives alk too high.

This has more:

thank you nice. I have read this before posting and it explains so much but not how to possibly deal with my specific issue. Low PH and high KH. Any direct advice to my specific issue? Thanks so much for everyone’s mentoring.

Randy Holmes-Farley

Reef Chemist
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0