MaiReef 100g

MaiReef

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So I finally gathered a few pictures for my tank build thread.

I decided since my wife would only allow one tank to replace my 46 gallon bow freshwater tank I wanted to go salt and bigger. I had been doing freshwater for 30 years so this was a challenge I wanted to take on. I looked at what I had to work for the space in the living room and I saw that I could go with a 4 foot tank. I ended up with a 100 gallon for two reasons. One, I did not want to see the corner overflow on the left side of the tank as that would be a viewing area and two, I wanted to go with a sump with a refugium as I was told at the lfs and read online mixed with the books that were recommended to me that it seemed the way to go.

The Conscientious Marine Aquarist, was the one that seemed to be the most recommend, so I started there. It was a good book, but a bit outdated I felt as LED had a large presence in 2011 and a bunch of the older methods seemed outdated. The value was the explanation of the husbandry that it would take compared to the freshwater was probably the biggest subject I was concerned about and it definately provided that. I looked online and found a forum(not this one at the time) and worked from there with other online sources and a few more books.

I read with a sump/refugium that I wanted a way to put in the cabinet. It seemed like the basic cabinets at the lfs could not accommodate this and I wanted something a bit nicer so I decided to build one. This was the first wood project that I was ever going to work on outside shop class and was happy the way it turned out. I will say this though, it was QUITE the PROJECT. Many, many hours and full details aside, below is what I ended up with mostly with a few modifications after the photo. The front has two doors and the left side panel is removable to have access to put the sump in.

upload_2017-3-2_8-15-30.png