Milwaukee refractometer reading off for standard solution

Phildago

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I just received a brand new Milwaukee refractometer and the reading for the standard solution is off. The standard is 1.025, but reading is coming in at 1.023 no matter how many times repeat and/or recalibrate.

I haven't tested my tank water yet because I don't know what to do with this

information. Could the solution be off? That doesn't seem right.

Maybe the next step will be to test with a manual refractometer and see is its 1.023 or 1.025 and compare to the Milwaukee.

If the instrument is coming in at .002 off consistently would this be grounds to return the unit? Can it be recalibrated to read correctly from home? And since it's consistent.. How would this translate into tank readings? Would they also be off by .002 or would it translate differently at another salinity?

Sorry for all the questions, but this is my first time using the unit and I'm just trying to get an idea of how to interpret this

NHgoalstop

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
How much solution are you putting in? When I use mine, I put in just enough to cover the mirror. Sometimes if I put in too much I get a bad reading.

Be102

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I actually had the same thing.. got mine today and first calibrated w Rodi and said 1.024 then tried with the solution and also said similar .. I then tried to calibrate and test my .35 ppt solution and it came to I think .34 and I gave up and said close enough

image.jpg

SeaDweller

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Mine was spot on when I used it a few times in the beginning. Try warming up the metal plate around the sensor and see if it helps.

OP
OP
Phildago

Phildago

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Do you have a link to it? I can’t find any info.