Mirrored backgrounds, Bad?

Jtfortune3

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So i’m new to the salty side! (I have 5 freshwater tanks) So my grandma had an old 29 gallon bowfront tank that has a painted on mirror background.. while it is kind of ugly it was free so I cycled the tank (which takes way more patience than freshwater) and I added two snow onyx clownfish.. they seem to sit in the back and surf up and down the mirror looking at their reflection.. i’ve read where this can become a problem with them fighting the reflection and constantly rubbing on the glass.. so now that I have the tank set up I was thinking about covering the top very well and sanding off the mirror paint and painting black? Do you think this could work?
Any other suggestions would help!
E66B27D2-1D98-437C-8D19-FCD34E361B7B.jpeg
6C9637B9-37A6-4157-A2A2-33691B2622F1.jpeg

SuncrestReef

That Apex guy
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
If you get them an anemone they might adopt it as their new home and totally ignore the reflection. My clowns will only leave their anemone at feeding time, then race right back to it for safety. They literally ignore everything else in the tank.

Screen Shot 2020-01-12 at 10.47.17 PM.png

zalick

A cup of water and a dash of salt
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I had the same thing. Drove one of my clowns nuts. Never again.

It needs to go IMO.. mirrors are a bad idea.

Mine was an actual mirror. I sanded it in tank to scuff enough. That worked.

If I were you, I'd just get a new tank if you have the money. A 20 long is a fantastic first tank.
Or a 40 breeder.

SuncrestReef

That Apex guy
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Please don't double-post. You posted the exact same question in two different subforums, so people are not going to see consistent replies.

Kriz

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0