Mixing saltwater

Jilly92

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0

In December I had 2 tanks crash because of ostreopsis Dinos after a 3 day blackout, my fish were dying and I had to do a massive water change quick. I have an rodi unit in my shower that fills up a 16 gallon container in about 3 hours. Normally I would mix water in a barrel and let it sit overnight, with a pump, powerhead, and heater. I was getting behind on water changes having that schedule and a wild 2 year old that is on my hip 24/7. When I had the tank crash I learned that you don't actually have to mix for 24 hours with this method. Since December I have had only positive experiences as I am keeping up with water changes now. Do any of you mix water this way? This video was made for instant ocean reef Crystals only as I have no experience with any other salt.

MaxTremors

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0

In December I had 2 tanks crash because of ostreopsis Dinos after a 3 day blackout, my fish were dying and I had to do a massive water change quick. I have an rodi unit in my shower that fills up a 16 gallon container in about 3 hours. Normally I would mix water in a barrel and let it sit overnight, with a pump, powerhead, and heater. I was getting behind on water changes having that schedule and a wild 2 year old that is on my hip 24/7. When I had the tank crash I learned that you don't actually have to mix for 24 hours with this method. Since December I have had only positive experiences as I am keeping up with water changes now. Do any of you mix water this way? This video was made for instant ocean reef Crystals only as I have no experience with any other salt.