Movin' On Up! Tank Upgrade!

ReefLife_Guy

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Just to wrap up the ol' 55 gallon build thread, here is where things were before tear down!

1682295335013.jpeg

1682295060243.jpeg

Some lessons learned and things I would tell myself if I was a beginner reefer again:
  • PATIENCE!!!!!!! All things patience!!!!!!!
    • Patience with nutrient issues!
      • High or Low you just got to give your first tank time to change. What you are seeing now is a result of things you have been doing in the past couple of weeks/months. Unless you are just adding nitrate and phosphate to the system, you are
    • Patience when you have a solution!
      • Try solving the issue but give it time to work. Everyone including myself always wants a quick solution but when you are trying to change a variable in an "ecosystem", you have got to give it time to respond. So many times I made a change, got impatient, made another change, then something went wrong or went right and I couldn't trace it back to which change it was.
    • Patience with building your tank and your ongoing projects!
      • You are NEVER going to order or buy everything you need the first time. Don't rush the project and settle for cheaper alternatives because one item is out of stock or won't get here when you want it to, because YOU WILL REGRET IT LATER!
    • Patience with buying the luxury/convenience gear.
      • Don't go for the cheap one because you think you need it now, save up and get the nicer model! It will save you money in the long run because the cheap one will break and you will have to get another shortly after! (I'm thinking of YOU cheap amazon pumps!!)
  • SAND!