My 150L new tank

Onixom

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi all im completely new to marine fish tanks and starting with a 150L rimless tank. After all my panicing (which some of you may have seen) about my cabinet under my tank and trying to get it level only to have it start its decent into its own destruction, finally after building it a new skeleton out of timber the cabinet became sturdier and using some leveling feet i got the cabinet bob on level and of course put some polystyrene under the tank to prevent the pressure cracks?
Filled the tank up and placed my rocks ontop of 1/2 an inch on coral sand to avoid it being on the bare bottom and left it for 1 week with pumps and heater going as i was told thats what you do prior to putting fish in.
Today I went out and bought a pair of clownfish and 2 peices of live rock, placed them in with some bacteria from a bottle and began the process of cycling. Hoping to be adding a few peices of coral into the tank later on down the road but i think i'll need a better light

20211114_202008.jpg 20211114_202019.jpg 20211114_202029.jpg

OP
OP
Onixom

Onixom

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
3 Month Update- So its been about 3 months now since setting up my tank and it may look painful to the expert reefers.
I think my tank is going through the ugly algea phase?
Theres currently a bubble algea outbreak from the live rock that i bought with Lady Bittington and john wayne gacy (Poking their head out on the left of the left rock

Some eventful things have happened.
I bought some corals (Xenia, kenya tree, GSP some zoas and a rhodactis mushroom)
Mushroom went MIA then reapeared 1 month later and bleached himself before he found a shady rock and has settled there and started re-gaining his colour

Im looking to buy a small foxface rabbit fish from my LFS amd when they get to big trade them for a smaller on but i have to lower my Nitrites (Only a trace amount)