My first reef tank - complete newbie, please advise

lkriley

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
It looks like the Nitrites are indeed starting to decrease, the color is lighter than the nitrites. Test again in a couple days. I think you will see a decent decrease. Keep using your Seachem stability daily. It is building up your bio filter which is essential. Once your nitrite gets to zero, you can, if you wish, do a water change of about 25%, personally I do 20%. But try not to disturb your bio filter while you do this. You don't have fish yet so there really isn't a reason to vacuum the bottom, just remove some water and replace. There are a lot of different thoughts out there, but I personally think once a week is plenty for a water change. Then once well established you can increase the time between changes. Once your nitrates get pretty low you can go for that first fish or two. Then you start all over after a couple days, the cycle is much faster after the first one though. I would keep using the Seachem for quite awhile though. I hope this helps you. Be sure to post your pics as you go. It is fun to watch.

lkriley

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0