Need help with a cracked glass tank

Bdroid

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi Reefers! This is my first time posting so please forgive me if I’m doing this incorrectly. With that being said, i was wondering if anyone here can give me some guidance on how to fix/patch a crack on my 80 gallon tank. The crack is located on the top middle portion of my tank (picture provided). I’m thinking about using a window repair kit to fill in the cracks between the glass and then apply some aquarium safe silicone on the outer layer but not exactly sure if that’s a good idea. Any advice you can give me would be greatly appreciated. Really trying to avoid buying another new tank.
431d24437b1466689bfe1f1fd2256b5c.jpeg

vetteguy53081

Well known Member and monster tank lover
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
13   0   0
I persnally would replace that panel as any leak will cause damage to tank, stand and ultimately flooring and not worth it.
Take this same picture or tank to a glass company in your area and see if they are willing/able to cut a new piece and re-silicone othet wise to do it yourself -not a bad project and good learning experience.
It is possible to have them cut a 4" x 4" square with a new hole and silicone it behind the tank as a patch and reinforcement

Last edited:

hdsoftail1065

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I agree with the others, it wouldn't be worth the risk, replace the panel or the tank.

Dr. Reef

www.drreefsquarantinedfish.com
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
there is no quick fix or patch for this. You will have to replace the whole panel or start with a different tank.
Btw its due to too much tightening or pressure.

OP
OP
B

Bdroid

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Thank you everyone for the advice! This is my first time trying to setup up a saltwater aquarium and I really want to get into this hobby but this incident is definitely not helping...

hdsoftail1065