Need Help with Frag Tank Glass Thickness

Mochi

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Good day guys! Like the title states, I'm a beginner looking to set up my first frag tank and am concerned regarding glass thickness. The measurements for the tank I'm getting custom built is 3'x20"x14" using low iron, non-tempered glass. The tank would be brace-less/rimless with 4 holes drilled (2x1.5" & 2x1") on the back panel for plumbing the overflow and returns.

My current plan going forward is to install 2 MP10s for flow in the tank which from Ecotech's website states, is recommended for thickness up to 0.375 inches (9.5 mm). I've heard mixed opinions on other reefers running their MP10s on 10mm glass so would like to err on the safe side and go with 8mm instead.

With that being said, do you guys think 8mm would be safe for the tank size I have in mind? Or would 10mm, or even 12mm be a better option? (safety factor and all)

From what I could gather online, seems the thickness of the glass required is mainly affected by the height of the tank. Tried calculating the safety factor myself but there were too many factors which I don't understand to trust myself to get an accurate answer.

Love to hear what your thoughts/opinions on this matter is as I'm quite clueless when it comes to this. Cheers! :)

Koh23

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Thicker is always better, of course, keep it realistic, 10mm is always better choice......

OP
OP
Mochi

Mochi

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Thicker is always better, of course, keep it realistic, 10mm is always better choice......
True, but if I go with thicker glass I would either have to shell out a lot more for the MP40s (which are quite overkill imo for my tank size) or run the risk of the MP10s not gripping properly.

Koh23

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
If i understand your measurement, tank dimension is roughly 90x50x35 cm?