Need help with Kalkwasser please

LesPoissons

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey guys,
I have a 220G aquarium and a 30g ato, but the ato is fitted under my stand and isnt really accessible to open, add powder, mix etc. I can remove the top and run my rodi line into it to refill, but thats about it. My tank evaporates 2g a day. I am looking into kalkwasser to stabilize my alk and ph but I dont think I want it to go into my ato since I cant clean the sludge off the bottom etc. Can I do a dripper for such a large tank? Should the dripper go into the ato or the sump? Or should I just get like a dosing pump and do a 2 part? My needs are low- ca is used at 1.5/day, alk is .145, mag is 4.5.
Tank is 4 years old and stayed stable with water changes. Now bigger corals, bigger demand, and im new to the dosing scene. Also trying to reduce water changes from every 2 weeks to 4-6. Thoughts? Thanks!

crawling junk

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
i run kalk separate. I use dosing pump and 4 gallon container. On 60g cube it lasts me about 6 days. dosing fully saturated kalk using DOS at 900 ml for 24 hours. it keeps ph stable but still have to manually dose alk. Thinking of switching to 2 part soon

nereefpat

7500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
If you do a kalk drip, it needs to go into your sump or display, not the ATO.

I would recommend a dosing type setup to add kalk to your system. For example, I use an aqua lifter pump on a light timer to pump kalk from a 6 gallon bucket to my sump.

Montiman

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0