Need help with parameters

praveen85

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey setting up new tank, tank cycling is done . My alkalinity is 5.8 and salinity is 1.033. What am I supposed to do?Change water with Rodi water and add soda ash or bicarbonate? Plz help

mues

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
If there are no fish in the tank already, lowering salinity is pretty easy. Just pull out salt water in small amounts and replace with rodi.

Multiple ways to increase alk in our tanks, also easier without fish/corals present. I'm no expert on that bit, maybe @Randy Holmes-Farley can assist with that

eliaslikesfish

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey setting up new tank, tank cycling is done . My alkalinity is 5.8 and salinity is 1.033. What am I supposed to do?Change water with Rodi water and add soda ash or bicarbonate? Plz help
To lower salinity just take a half gallon or so of water out at a time and replace with RODI, check salinity every few hours till you’re down to 1.025. I used seachem’s reef builder (attached a photo) about once a week, you probably won’t need to use it as much because you don’t have corals but I mix half a teaspoon of the powder with about 1 cup of RODI and pour it in front of a high flow area, raises it about 1-2dkh. hope this helps!
image.jpg

eliaslikesfish

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
To lower salinity just take a half gallon or so of water out at a time and replace with RODI, check salinity every few hours till you’re down to 1.025. I used seachem’s reef builder (attached a photo) about once a week, you probably won’t need to use it as much because you don’t have corals but I mix half a teaspoon of the powder with about 1 cup of RODI and pour it in front of a high flow area, raises it about 1-2dkh. hope this helps!

note: if you can, at some point i would invest in a alkalinity hanna checker, just a little pricey.
image.jpg

fushi

View Badges
Reaction score