Need some help..

zchauvin

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
Alright guys, I've done as much research and as many searches as I can and I am seeing a lot of mixed answers and I have very little knowledge of what I am doing. I bought four sps frags from my lfs as I'm trying to transfer my tank over to sps instead of lps. I bought a red planet frag that had lots of green on entire colony, grown under radion led. The green tells me it was under lower par, the other three all came from a separate tank also under radions. The mother colonies were between 2 and 14 inches below the water line. The pieces are blue millepora, green slimer, and orange passion. I put the red planet towards the top of my tank, first day or so it was fine then I upped my light intensity and it completely browned out. No polyp extension and looked bad, today it is starting to STN and I'm sure I'll lose it. The other three are fine but the milli and green slimer are starting to get brown as well, the only thing still holding color and looking decent is the orange passion.

10g Nuvo Fusion
Kessil 160 set at approx 30% intensity - 12" above water.
Chemipure blue

Nitrates - <2 (red sea)
Phosphate - 0.00 (Hannah)
Calcium - 430
Alk - 8.4
Mag - N/A
Sg - 1.026

Using Fritz salt, tank is kept at 78 degrees. When I saw how low the nutrients were I began dosing Red sea Part A and B as well as feeding reef frenzy eod. I've got two banner cardinals that I feed mysis once a day.

OP
OP
Z

zchauvin

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
After two days with reef frenzy, parts A and B along side increased feedings for fish my phosphates as of just now are still at 0.00

saltyfilmfolks

Lights! Camera! Reef!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
how good is the flow? the po4 is low and you may be stripping it too fast from that little bit of water. are you running an ato? do you test for PH swings? Are you using an auto doser?