New Avast Marine Calcium Reactor

ScottB

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 5, 2018
Messages
1,672
Reaction score
2,220
Location
Fairfield County, CT
I will build this chart when I get back in town.


No need for this. It can go next to the sump, or really anywhere you want within about 4ft of head pressure below the sump (i.e., try not to make it pump more than 4ft uphill)


Yes, you're definitely in the range where a calcium reactor will save you money over two part. You should consider kalk dosing as well. The two systems complement each other nicely.

Happy New Year everyone!
Thank you. The kalk dose is to manage pH levels correct? Or other purpose? And aside from trial and error, are these “dosing” processes monitored or controlled by a controller of any kind? Happy to read up if you can shoot a link. Thanks.
 

markstubb

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Jul 11, 2016
Messages
598
Reaction score
388
Location
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Got mine back to Malaysia but haven’t set it up yet. We just found out we’re moving the end of the month so I have to break down my whole tank anyway. Never moved a tank before. Should be interesting.
 

Mrx7899

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Feb 27, 2016
Messages
920
Reaction score
868
Location
Hamilton nj
Its here ! The build quality is very nice like all my other avast products. Going to try and install it tonight. I'm Intrested to see how this new design compares to my old calcium reactor.
15786812877632207439360779684517.jpg
15786815413673755299340456747424.jpg
 

Brew12

Electrical Gru
View Badges
Joined
Aug 14, 2016
Messages
21,099
Reaction score
53,292
Location
Decatur, AL
Well... I did something that I never do. I ordered this with the secondary chamber and I have no idea how I am going to control it. I like to have a plan in place to make sure it is what I need but... my 2-part usage is out of control, I love the stuff I've gotten from Avast, and this design fascinates me.

Sounds like the next batch is in production so I have a few weeks to figure out what I will need to integrate this into my Profilux.
 

Brew12

Electrical Gru
View Badges
Joined
Aug 14, 2016
Messages
21,099
Reaction score
53,292
Location
Decatur, AL
I'm not sure why it took so long, but it all just clicked. I don't know why I struggled so much to figure out how the input and output flows could be matched. I guess I assumed there must be some form of venting because of the CO2.

Now to start getting everything else I need to make it work with a little protection built in.
 

ScottB

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 5, 2018
Messages
1,672
Reaction score
2,220
Location
Fairfield County, CT
I keep saying I am going to move over to CaRx as I am ESV dosing over 500ml a day across two systems.

But then I hear that many CaRx users are also dosing 2 part and Kalk to keep ALK stable and manage pH. That feels like adding two more maintenance tasks and failure points. (Actually four in my case.)

I'll just keep reading up on the adventures of others while my basement fills up with empty ESV buckets.
 

Brew12

Electrical Gru
View Badges
Joined
Aug 14, 2016
Messages
21,099
Reaction score
53,292
Location
Decatur, AL
I keep saying I am going to move over to CaRx as I am ESV dosing over 500ml a day across two systems.

But then I hear that many CaRx users are also dosing 2 part and Kalk to keep ALK stable and manage pH. That feels like adding two more maintenance tasks and failure points. (Actually four in my case.)

I'll just keep reading up on the adventures of others while my basement fills up with empty ESV buckets.
My Profilux should help automatically control the CaRx so I'm hoping to get away from the 2 part completely.
 

Mrx7899

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Feb 27, 2016
Messages
920
Reaction score
868
Location
Hamilton nj
It's been running great nice steady drip rate very quiet haven't had a problem with it at all. Running it at 6.7 and its keeping up with the demand of 225 gallon tank that's sps dominate with a few large colonies. One thing is that its completely fully of water avast said that it was fine.
 

ctenophore

Avast Justin
View Badges
Joined
Sep 19, 2008
Messages
134
Reaction score
26
Location
Rockville, MD
It's been running great nice steady drip rate very quiet haven't had a problem with it at all. Running it at 6.7 and its keeping up with the demand of 225 gallon tank that's sps dominate with a few large colonies. One thing is that its completely fully of water avast said that it was fine.
Correct- this just means that it is running well under its maximum CO2 input capacity. If you need to run it harder (i.e., lower internal pH) in the future to keep up with demand, you will see the CO2 start to displace water in the chamber, and this is okay.
 

Is it HARD or EASY for you to keep your corals colorful? (check all that apply)

  • SPS Hard

    Votes: 400 60.8%
  • SPS Easy

    Votes: 160 24.3%
  • LPS Hard

    Votes: 111 16.9%
  • LPS Easy

    Votes: 439 66.7%
  • Zoas Hard

    Votes: 68 10.3%
  • Zoas Easy

    Votes: 439 66.7%
  • Soft Corals Hard

    Votes: 57 8.7%
  • Soft Corals Easy

    Votes: 436 66.3%

Online statistics

Members online
2,409
Guests online
7,855
Total visitors
10,264
Aquaticlife
The IceCap Gyre is back and better than ever!
Top