New Reefer needs help troubleshooting

miloreif

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi everyone. I’m new to the reef hobby, I’ve had saltwater fish for years but never kept coral. I recently set up a 30 gallon tank and it just finished cycling. I’ve added some clownfish and a wrasse and they’re doing great. I’ll list all my parameters and equipment below. Today I bought some Xenia and GSP as my first corals. However both have refused to open up and the Xenia is shrinking and shrinking. I can’t figure out what’s wrong.

I use Biocube salt with all the trace minerals with RO DI water. I have a good quality NICREW LED Coral light. I have two power heads positioned on opposite ends of the tank, facing in such a way that there are no dead zones. I always make sure my hands and clean and free of any traces or soap before doing any maintenance. I also dipped the coral at the appropriate dosage and temperature acclimated them accordingly. I feel like I’m doing everything right and I’ve done a heck of a ton of research. But I can’t even grow a Xenia?!! What am I missing?

Parameters:
Ammonia: 0 ppm
Nitrite: 0 ppm
Nitrate: 10 ppm
pH: 8.2
Salinity: 1.024
Calcium: 420 ppm
Alkalinity: 9.4 dKH
Magnesium: 1300 ppm
Phosphate: 0 ppm

Equipment:
HOB filter with charcoal, sponge, and biomedia
Protein Skimmer
Heater at 80F
2 power heads
NICREW LED reef light
Plenty of live rock and sand

I also dose with Microbacter7 weekly and just started using Genesis by Polyp Lab.

lil sumpin

Digital Sponge
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
If you just got them today you should anticipate them cozying up to your system and opening up within a day or two.
Rick And Morty Cartoon GIF

Nano_Man

Anemone L
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0