New tank - rising levels

JvC

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey all, I am new to the saltwater side of this hobby. I set up 2 tanks in may. I set up a 65 and a 73. I have a question about my levels in the 73. I am using a trident. I have about 10 coral frags. Very small. The ALK level seems to be going up on the daily.

I am doing a daily waterchange of 1.8 gallons using a DOS. I am not otherwise treating or putting anything in the water. I am using ProRPM salt - the blue one.

Is this a concern or is this just normal?

1653914943921.png

MY PH is also lower than what the numbers call for, but like I said, I have put nothing in the water. This is interesting, here is the PH from both tanks:

1653915222979.png

I found this super cool, the PH levels in the 2 tanks - how they almost mirror each other. The tanks are in the same room, about 12 feet apart on opposite walls.

Josh

glb

7500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey all, I am new to the saltwater side of this hobby. I set up 2 tanks in may. I set up a 65 and a 73. I have a question about my levels in the 73. I am using a trident. I have about 10 coral frags. Very small. The ALK level seems to be going up on the daily.

I am doing a daily waterchange of 1.8 gallons using a DOS. I am not otherwise treating or putting anything in the water. I am using ProRPM salt - the blue one.

Is this a concern or is this just normal?

1653914943921.png

MY PH is also lower than what the numbers call for, but like I said, I have put nothing in the water. This is interesting, here is the PH from both tanks:

1653915222979.png

I found this super cool, the PH levels in the 2 tanks - how they almost mirror each other. The tanks are in the same room, about 12 feet apart on opposite walls.

Josh