New tank

Btrainrolls

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey everyone, I’ve been doing some research for some time. A while back I had 10 freshwater tanks for many years going successfully when I was single haha (12 years ago). I’ve always wanted a saltwater reef tank. The family is pretty excited to get into it now. So we are starting with a 40 gallon breeder, rodi filtration to have great water. Mixed the salt to 1.021 salinity. Caribsea live sand 1” depth and 20lbs Carib sea life rock with spores. Temp about 76 degrees F. I added biological booster to get the cycle going. PH 8.1 ammonia 0 nitrite 0 nitrate 0. I do have a small circulator pump in there as well as a penguin 375. Will upgrade over time (not the best course I know).
image.jpg

OP
OP
Btrainrolls

Btrainrolls

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey good for you and welcome to the hobby! How long has the tank been running?
Hey Thank you for the welcome. I’m very new to saltwater. Tank is 2 days running. Really new. First reef tank. I know patience is key. I’m a bit confused on when to put a cleaner crew member in (and feed because there isn’t anything for them to eat now). Some say to put something in in the beginning and some say wait until after cycle. If I read correctly, adding bacteria booster should help cycle in days rather than weeks. I always do research in anything I do, but when it comes to saltwater tanks I find that everyone has their own way.

Last edited:

Reefer5640

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Yeah definitely add more rock. If not for more filtration you’ll wish you had when you run out of room for coral. Is that live rock or dry rock your adding? I thought I read life rock. If that’s true and it as actual life rock from the ocean it will be a very short to non existent cycle.

OP
OP
Btrainrolls

Btrainrolls

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0