New to coral.. VERY PARANOID

grynning4fish

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I’m wanting to add some corals to my tank. Im a newbie when it comes to them and have stayed away from them after hearing about Palytoxin.
I DON’T WANT TO DIE.
Does Gsp contain any toxins? I don’t plan on touching it.. but if I accidentally do is it harmful?
If i put my hands in the tank and don’t wash my hands, then go eat some chips or touch my mouth lets say.. AM I GOING TO DIE?
Does the water become toxic with corals in there or am i just way to paranoid and a hypochondriac?
All my parameters are good to go.. Just need this answered before i proceed.

mrpontiac80

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
In all honesty, most corals are fine to be around. It’s mostly each other that they have issues with. Stingers and such. Zoas can have some toxins but just be cautious when handling them especially out of the water. Palythoas are like really big zoas and have palytoxins. That’s one coral I personally will not ever have. Everything else I say try it and just don’t lick them! :grinning-face-with-sweat:

RC51

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I’m wanting to add some corals to my tank. Im a newbie when it comes to them and have stayed away from them after hearing about Palytoxin.
I DON’T WANT TO DIE.
Does Gsp contain any toxins? I don’t plan on touching it.. but if I accidentally do is it harmful?
If i put my hands in the tank and don’t wash my hands, then go eat some chips or touch my mouth lets say.. AM I GOING TO DIE?
Does the water become toxic with corals in there or am i just way to paranoid and a hypochondriac?