New to palytoxin

andy_12

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi!! I’m new to saltwater and recently added a zoanthid I have a few questions is the toxin released in the tank? And if is the toxin evaporated while being in the tank thank you

mues

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Very few cases of palytoxin poisoning. If you're worried, wear gloves and eye protection. I handle mine barehanded putting them into the tank, but I don't do any fragging. They're not going to poison you while in the tank.

OP
OP
andy_12

andy_12

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Very few cases of palytoxin poisoning. If you're worried, wear gloves and eye protection. I handle mine barehanded putting them into the tank, but I don't do any fragging. They're not going to poison you while in the tank.
Thank you I did wear gloves and eye protection I was worried of anything happening thanks!!

mues

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Thank you I did wear gloves and eye protection I was worried of anything happening thanks!!
almost always, the cause of hospitalization from palytoxin is from someone boiling live rock with zoas/palys on it that they weren't aware was there, or scrubbing the same trying to clean it.

OP
OP
andy_12

andy_12

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
almost always, the cause of hospitalization from palytoxin is from someone boiling live rock with zoas/palys on it that they weren't aware was there, or scrubbing the same trying to clean it.
I’m not sure but when I was moving the Zoa I forgot to wear gloves but I touched the live rock it came with and then I used hot water on my hands could that lead to poisoning later on I got this tingling in my tongue and some sort of rash on my arm

ESABOE

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
OP
OP
andy_12

andy_12

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
OP
OP
andy_12

andy_12

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0