Palytoxin in corals

Magnus777

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I’m new to this hobby, I’ve been searching about corals and I have found that palys and zoas have a deadly toxin called palytoxin, my question is that if all corals have this toxin or only that type of corals?

gbroadbridge

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I’m new to this hobby, I’ve been searching about corals and I have found that palys and zoas have a deadly toxin called palytoxin, my question is that if all corals have this toxin or only that type of corals?
Palythoa and some Zoathid coral have Palytoxin.
Other coral do not.

Idech

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I asked the same question a few years ago and this is the list that was given to me :

Zoanthids (zoas) - soft coral
Palythoa (palys) - soft coral
Toadstool (sarcophyton) - leather
Devil’s hand (labophytum) - leather
Finger (sinularia) - leather
Tree or branch coral (lemnalia) - soft coral
Nephthea - leather
Cespitularia - soft coral

LandLockedJones

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I understand your concern. I have a toddler in the house and was worried about it as well when I started.

But only palys produce it and use it as a defense mechanism. It resides within the tissue of the coral.

I recall the tidal gardens spotlight on Zoas stating that zoas can contain paly toxin, but that it was unclear if they produce it or absorb it.

It’s up to you, to weigh the risk versus the reward. Zoas are gorgeous corals. And present the most risk when trying to propagate or frag the coral. Or when atttempting to remove them from your rocks(usually people removing palythoa)

Personally, I think most palys are ugly by comparison anyways. And won’t be adding them intentionally because they definitely contain the toxin. I do have Zoas and am adding more soon.