New to salt bored with fresh

aussie240

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
G'day fellow reefers im new to the saltwater hobby and forums, ive been keeping freshwater planted for about 5 years and sadly had to sell all my tanks and move house last year. its sort of surreal not having a tank in my life atm and miss the good old days of coming home and just rewinding with the tank beer in hand.lol
Im really looking forward to building a large diy Aquarium in the near future and been lucky enough to be granted a permanent fishroom to keep the setup so i never have to move a fishtank again!
been collecting equipment along the way over the years and finally got a decent skimmer and chiller.

looking forward to meeting you all and gaining some knowledge on how to reef, Cheers

Hans Solo

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi! I would do a lot of consideration on what you would like to keep most. For instance a seahorse tank or a mantis shrimp tank are always options (and not as advanced as you may think) that have lots of particular requirements that need to be thought of ahead! Good luck.

Salty1962

Wrasse and SPS Lover
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Welcome to R2R!

welcom.jpg

OP
OP
A

aussie240

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Thank you all for the warm invite to the fascinating world of Saltwater,
over the next few weeks im going to empty out the designated fish room, its a bunker thats in the side of a hill so is perfect for this project. with my first tank i may as well go big so thats the goal ive had for a while in mind.
that way i wont be upgrading or wanting bigger, it would be great to have a tank thats physically manageable and practical to keep
i can also have rain water tanks/salt mix above the room so it can gravity feed its way in. im also going to rip the roof off and replace it with acrylic corrugated roofing sheets to let as much sun light in for the corals ,