Newbie questions about rock flower

mch1984

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Ok so I’m a newbie when it comes to saltwater but not aquariums. My 34 gallon has officially been up and running for about 2 months. With that being said, the rock and biological media was from a 2year old nano. I have read everywhere that a Tank needs to be up and running for at least 6 months before an Anemone is added. This tank didn’t have to cycle, at worst I got a mini cycle with a small diatom and bacteria bloom. Not sure if that part matters but I thought I would mention it.

I have started looking at rock flower nems and have decided that’s what I want, even if they won’t host clowns. I even have a spot picked out I would like them to settle. I know I may not get my wish in that reguard but I can hope lol. So the question what do I need to look for to know my tank is ready or is there anything? Is the 6 months to a year a hard rule or is there something I can do to help it? I’ve read that rock nems arent picky about lighting so I think I’m good in that reguard. Thanks for any tips on this.

OP
OP
mch1984

mch1984

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I think I just read your welcome post. You a cross over from high tech freshwater? I am & just getting started. Its exciting. So welcome!

Yes my 75 gallon is high tech, eco complete substrate, current satellite pro lighting, pressurized co2 injection. Only thing I haven’t done is add ferts, but I’m sure I will. I’m excited too, salt is such adventure and a challenge, which is what makes it fun for me.

Unregistered User

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Yes my 75 gallon is high tech, eco complete substrate, current satellite pro lighting, pressurized co2 injection. Only thing I haven’t done is add ferts, but I’m sure I will. I’m excited too, salt is such adventure and a challenge, which is what makes it fun for me.