Nikon D3100 help please

fsu1dolfan

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey guys so i need some camera pros who know how to work a Nikon D3100. I am still very new to the DSLR games, so i thank you for any advice. My main problem is taking pics with the Cree Blue LEDs on. You guys know what i am talking about the ones that make you corals pop like candy. I have a tripod but i can seem to get the color balance proper. I feel like i tried every mode possible. Messing with white balance, no flash etc. Every pic was either too blue or too dark. I really just want to corals to stand out like they do with the LEDs on and the rest dark but its seems in order to get the right colors of the corals the rest of the pic is bright blue...not what i am looking to accomplish which is a real life representation. Any ideas, tips or pointers are appreciated.

lurchw00t

Wham Bam Shazaam!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
What I've heard works best is having your lights on, whites and blues, then adjust white balance. Turn your whites off then take your pictures.

Sent from my Motorola Atrix 4G

OP
OP
fsu1dolfan

fsu1dolfan

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
What I've heard works best is having your lights on, whites and blues, then adjust white balance. Turn your whites off then take your pictures.

Sent from my Motorola Atrix 4G

So your saying adjust it while day lights are on...then turn them off and take pics? not sure i follow

This is an example of what has been happening to me
DSC_0289.jpg

OP
OP
fsu1dolfan

fsu1dolfan

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
This is my biggest fear with putting my LEDs on my tank... Tagging along..

LOL Troy...Trust me it isnt a problem with the white and blue on. I have a friend that has a full led system and the pics look great but with just blue...its a whole other story. I am hoping someone has some input cuz its driving me nuts.

Bruno