Nitrate 0 and Phosphate 0.07

BRS

PristineReef

Community Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
May 30, 2020
Messages
32
Reaction score
3
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
So my nitrates are at 0 and phosphate is 0.07. Typically I see nitrate high on tanks and phosphate lower. What causes nitrate to be 0 but showing phosphate? I dosed nitro to get nitrate in tank. Put phosphate X to drop phosphate to lower level to prevent algae issue arising.

FYI - Tank is still not finished. Building top to hide lighting and all cords.

20210413_203618.jpg 20210411_195832.jpg
 
AquaCave Logo Banner
OP
P

PristineReef

Community Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
May 30, 2020
Messages
32
Reaction score
3
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
What causes low nitrates? Over skimming, over filtration (filter socks/pads/ats/oversized skimmer) when there wasn't a nitrate problem in the first place, not enough feeding, not enough fish to eat and make fish poop
Thanks! So what causes the phosphate in the tank then since I have them?
 

RuuToo

Active Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Mar 13, 2021
Messages
132
Reaction score
159
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
south jersey
Your tank looks pretty new - it’s likely to be all over the place for a while, and chasing numbers with dosing may or may not help in the initial break in period. Different organisms will be breaking out and consuming phosphate and nitrates at different ratios and then something else will come in and do the reverse. I also dont think that 0.07 is all that high myself, if there aren’t any obvious negative signs.

It’s your tank though, so you can do whatever makes you happy. Mine looked like utter crap for a whole year before it settled in and started to look good, so who knows what my advice is worth.
 
Zoanthids
BRS

Have you noticed any changes in the color of your coral based on how you feed your tank?

  • YES (tell us in the thread)

    Votes: 66 40.2%
  • NO

    Votes: 90 54.9%
  • Other (please explain)

    Votes: 8 4.9%
Top