Nitrate and Phosphate too low??

scott_r

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Set up a 45 gallon AIO 6 months ago and all my parameters are great except for Nitrates and Phosphates, they both test zero with my Salifert test kits. My tank looks great, coral growth is excellent but keep hearing zero is bad, bad, bad and you need some Nitrates and Phosphates in the tank. I have tried to get them up by feeding heavy but end up seeing algae appear all over and then gotta fight that off. What do some of you vets suggest I do? Do I buy some Brightwell products and dose for it? Leave it alone?

*Im sure this has been discussed alot, Im a newb and not sure how these forums work..if there are some good posts on this please link them for me. Cheers!!

SPS2020

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
Welcome to R2R!

It's a fine line to balance, especially if it is a newer tank. You should start building a good CUC if you haven't already. Tuxedo Urchins, cerith snails, turbo snails, etc. UV can help as well. Depending upon corals, you can limit the light schedule and make sure no sunlight is getting to the tank. Also, remember that if you have GHA and the test show zero PO4, it is hiding within the algae. You have to remove the algae. I'm walking that tightrope right now. Good luck and I'm sure others will chime in.

ReefGeezer

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I would not dose nitrate and phosphate yet.

The Salifert kit is probably doesn't have the resolution needed for testing reef tank phosphate levels (0 to .1 ppm). Something like a Hanna ULR tester would be a good thing to have before making any decisions about raising phosphate. You could actually be driving phosphate too high by over feeding & just not know it. IMO, anything above 0 is good.

The Salifert kit is great for nitrate. Again, any reading above 0 is good.