Nitrate not increasing

OP
B

Brandon7878

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 20, 2017
Messages
130
Reaction score
50
Yea it'll go forever without it. You could be seeing it not liking the flow without it or even if that's where your carbon is Chem warfare goo is building up.

But def clean it befor going back on line. Ammonia can build up in it or worse.

You might just be having a bit of the perfect storm. Three things or more not quite right at the same time.
Tryed finding the pe this morning for my light and all I could find was this... I have the 18 inch one.
 

saltyfilmfolks

Lights! Camera! Reef!
View Badges
Joined
Feb 25, 2014
Messages
28,741
Reaction score
32,903
Location
California
Tryed finding the pe this morning for my light and all I could find was this... I have the 18 inch one.
@saltyfilmfolks so I upped my lights an extra 4 hours to see if It makes a difference.
Probably a good plan.

So if I am seeing this correctly , in your tank (I'd love a full tank shot to determine the distance from the light to the sand)

You should have about 100 par on the sand and that should be perfect

What that means to me is, you should be running the light for a min of 8 hours.(go slowly to acclimate ) Based on those numbers , and quite possibly a bit longer. The caveat being , there is a connection between photosynthesis and nutint levels. In laymans terms, you need fuel to power the process.
 
OP
B

Brandon7878

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 20, 2017
Messages
130
Reaction score
50
Probably a good plan.

So if I am seeing this correctly , in your tank (I'd love a full tank shot to determine the distance from the light to the sand)

You should have about 100 par on the sand and that should be perfect

What that means to me is, you should be running the light for a min of 8 hours.(go slowly to acclimate ) Based on those numbers , and quite possibly a bit longer. The caveat being , there is a connection between photosynthesis and nutint levels. In laymans terms, you need fuel to power the process.
 
OP
B

Brandon7878

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 20, 2017
Messages
130
Reaction score
50
Probably a good plan.

So if I am seeing this correctly , in your tank (I'd love a full tank shot to determine the distance from the light to the sand)

You should have about 100 par on the sand and that should be perfect

What that means to me is, you should be running the light for a min of 8 hours.(go slowly to acclimate ) Based on those numbers , and quite possibly a bit longer. The caveat being , there is a connection between photosynthesis and nutint levels. In laymans terms, you need fuel to power the process.
Should I start running carbon in my canister filter? Also it's running again. Jut needed to be cleaned I guess.
 

saltyfilmfolks

Lights! Camera! Reef!
View Badges
Joined
Feb 25, 2014
Messages
28,741
Reaction score
32,903
Location
California
Yes. I would run a bag of carbon and floss only. (It's cheap)

Look at that pic. And the par chart. And measure from the light to the bottom.

At 12in you have 200 par. More than enough for med light coral at 8-10 hours.

Closer to the light you have even. More.
 
OP
B

Brandon7878

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 20, 2017
Messages
130
Reaction score
50
Yes. I would run a bag of carbon and floss only. (It's cheap)

Look at that pic. And the par chart. And measure from the light to the bottom.

At 12in you have 200 par. More than enough for med light coral at 8-10 hours.

Closer to the light you have even. More.
12.5 inches from the light to the bottom so I have plenty of light right? Maybe I shouldn't of turn it up so high then in hours? I have blue turn on from 8am to 10pm and then white and blue turns on from 9am to 9pm.
 
OP
B

Brandon7878

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 20, 2017
Messages
130
Reaction score
50
Yes. I would run a bag of carbon and floss only. (It's cheap)

Look at that pic. And the par chart. And measure from the light to the bottom.

At 12in you have 200 par. More than enough for med light coral at 8-10 hours.

Closer to the light you have even. More.
Would you be able to point me in the right direction for purchasing carbon for my tank? Guessing I would need something like a bag that the water could run through?
 

saltyfilmfolks

Lights! Camera! Reef!
View Badges
Joined
Feb 25, 2014
Messages
28,741
Reaction score
32,903
Location
California
Would you be able to point me in the right direction for purchasing carbon for my tank? Guessing I would need something like a bag that the water could run through?
A quick google for aquarium granular activated carbon.
Aquarium media bag.
I prefer the white fine mesh bag.

http://m.drsfostersmith.com/product/prod_display.cfm?pcatid=13961&cmpid=03cseYY&ref=XXXX&subref=AA&gclid=EAIaIQobChMImPj0zMer1wIV1x6BCh0DDwzREAQYBSABEgKndfD_BwE

If you have a local fish store , lfs, hit them up , not that it's a better deal, you can just drool in the frag tanks.
;)
 

saltyfilmfolks

Lights! Camera! Reef!
View Badges
Joined
Feb 25, 2014
Messages
28,741
Reaction score
32,903
Location
California
12.5 inches from the light to the bottom so I have plenty of light right? Maybe I shouldn't of turn it up so high then in hours? I have blue turn on from 8am to 10pm and then white and blue turns on from 9am to 9pm.
I would start by shortening that.
At least for now. Blue at 8a (I like to see the tank in the am safety check, or use the moon light for that) 1hr to 2 hrs then white.
Don't let the toatal time last more than ten hours , for now anyway.
If it has a moon light , use that but I run mine off completely at night.
 
Corals.com
OP
B

Brandon7878

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 20, 2017
Messages
130
Reaction score
50
I would start by shortening that.
At least for now. Blue at 8a (I like to see the tank in the am safety check, or use the moon light for that) 1hr to 2 hrs then white.
Don't let the toatal time last more than ten hours , for now anyway.
If it has a moon light , use that but I run mine off completely at night.
That's what I have now. I got the carbon today but have to wait for the oaster eggs next week. They ran out.
 

techhnyne

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Oct 6, 2017
Messages
344
Reaction score
89
I am having the same problem
I have 2 bioblocks in my sump and i have 125g tank 60ish g sump

i read my bioblocks were rated for 1200 gallons each and i have 2
does that mean i have to much bacteria to get nitrates?
 

saltyfilmfolks

Lights! Camera! Reef!
View Badges
Joined
Feb 25, 2014
Messages
28,741
Reaction score
32,903
Location
California
I am having the same problem
I have 2 bioblocks in my tank and i have 125g tank 60ish g sump

i read my bioblocks were rated for 1200 gallons each and i have 2
does that mean i have to much bacteria to get nitrates?
I personally would wait and see.
If you don't have problems younwont have problems. Every tank balances differently.
 

saltyfilmfolks

Lights! Camera! Reef!
View Badges
Joined
Feb 25, 2014
Messages
28,741
Reaction score
32,903
Location
California
i want some nitrates though i have been trying to get nitrates and dosing kno3 but nothings working
You feed health full I assume ?
No carbon dosing or pro bitoitcs ?

You could pull one block.

But the big real question is, are the corals fine? Or is it just the test numbers. If the corals are fine , the tank is fine , folks lose sight of that despite that the experts actually say it.
 
Get Fish & Corals directly for the suppliers

techhnyne

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Oct 6, 2017
Messages
344
Reaction score
89
You feed health full I assume ?
No carbon dosing or pro bitoitcs ?

You could pull one block.

But the big real question is, are the corals fine? Or is it just the test numbers. If the corals are fine , the tank is fine , folks lose sight of that despite that the experts actually say it.
the corals were fine now I have dinos and they are all closed up every coral i have.. no carbon dosing no pro biotics just 2 bio blocks rated for 2400 gallons haha
I wanna grow algae to combat the dinos
 
OP
B

Brandon7878

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 20, 2017
Messages
130
Reaction score
50
@saltyfilmfolks carbon is in and running. Lights are changed. Blue on at 8am, off at 6pm
Blue and white on at 9am and then white turns off at 5pm.

Hopefully going to see growth happening. I am getting the oaster eggs next week and hopefully nitrates start growing for me haha. :)) I will keep you posted on the progress.
 

saltyfilmfolks

Lights! Camera! Reef!
View Badges
Joined
Feb 25, 2014
Messages
28,741
Reaction score
32,903
Location
California
the corals were fine now I have dinos and they are all closed up every coral i have.. no carbon dosing no pro biotics just 2 bio blocks rated for 2400 gallons haha
I wanna grow algae to combat the dinos
Ah got it.
Is it 100% sure Dino's ?

Yea , you could pull the blocks and clean them and store them.

If you are nitrate limiting the system you could get Dino's. Becise it's impeding othe macro fauna growth. So growing chato won't help. It's already nutint starved on one side.

Honestly the most successful methods are to scrub and keep scrubbing , but use a canister filter or reactor with floss and carbon thatbgets changed weekly for a while. You need to get the Dino bio mass down and also the toxic spoo out.

Feed the fish more to get nutints up.
N goes up faster than P ime. Down to.
Then if that doesn't work after a few weeks consider peroxide dosing.
 

saltyfilmfolks

Lights! Camera! Reef!
View Badges
Joined
Feb 25, 2014
Messages
28,741
Reaction score
32,903
Location
California
@saltyfilmfolks carbon is in and running. Lights are changed. Blue on at 8am, off at 6pm
Blue and white on at 9am and then white turns off at 5pm.

Hopefully going to see growth happening. I am getting the oaster eggs next week and hopefully nitrates start growing for me haha. :)) I will keep you posted on the progress.
Sweet man. I hope it goes well. Def keep me / we updated.

Hmm. Maybe a ..... buld thread. o_O
 

techhnyne

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Oct 6, 2017
Messages
344
Reaction score
89
Ah got it.
Is it 100% sure Dino's ?

Yea , you could pull the blocks and clean them and store them.

If you are nitrate limiting the system you could get Dino's. Becise it's impeding othe macro fauna growth. So growing chato won't help. It's already nutint starved on one side.

Honestly the most successful methods are to scrub and keep scrubbing , but use a canister filter or reactor with floss and carbon thatbgets changed weekly for a while. You need to get the Dino bio mass down and also the toxic spoo out.

Feed the fish more to get nutints up.
N goes up faster than P ime. Down to.
Then if that doesn't work after a few weeks consider peroxide dosing.
Yes 100% sure its dinos. I already started h2o2 dosing but i still see dinos taking foothold. Really not sure what the heck to do unless i pull my blocks and let my tank grow algae
 

Any special reefing plans for this week?

  • Yes

    Votes: 125 46.6%
  • No

    Votes: 115 42.9%
  • Maybe

    Votes: 28 10.4%

Online statistics

Members online
1,458
Guests online
3,394
Total visitors
4,852
JASON FOX SIGNATURE CORALS
TCK Corals
Top